Gen ThauThau – Interview 2020: Origins of Rastafari in South Africa

General ThauThau Haramanuba explains the history of the Rasta uprising in South Africa under the Apartheid rule, and how the early literature of the UNIA and the Holy Piby were circulated, inspiring the beginnings of the movement. From Ethiopianism and the reggae explosion of the 70’s to the connection with repatriates from the West and currently the indigenous impact on Rastafari in the region, we are brought on a journey through time from a first-hand perspective


Gregory Isaacs -Uncle Joe (1990 Digital Remaster)

Provided to YouTube by Universal Music Group

Uncle Joe (1990 Digital Remaster) · Gregory Isaacs

Cool Ruler – Soon Forward: Selection

℗ 1990 Virgin Records Ltd

Released on: 1990-01-01

Producer: Gregory Isaacs
Associated Performer, Guitar: Chinna
Associated Performer, Bass (vocal): Ernest Wilson
Associated Performer, Vocalist: The Heptones
Associated Performer, Bass (vocal): Robert Shakespeare
Associated Performer, Drums: Sly Dunbar
Associated Performer, Horn: Tommy McCook
Associated Performer, Guitar: Ranchie
Associated Performer, Guitar: Bingy Bunny
Associated Performer, Keyboards: Ansell Collins
Associated Performer, Horn: Bobby Ellis
Associated Performer, Horn: Herman Marquis
Studio Personnel, Engineer: Lancelot McKenzie
Composer: Gregory Isaacs